Emily Koster

12 November 2020

2 min read

We’re excited to announce this year’s lineup for our Web Summit 2020 Masterclasses. The theme is “Scaling to Global Audiences” and we’ve assembled leaders from Waymo, GV, RG/A, and Twilio for honest discussions on what it takes to build and scale a global business. These sessions are free to Web Summit attendees but space will be limited.

If you’re not attending Web Summit this year, signup to get Masterclass updates and access to our post-event wrap up.


Embracing the inside & outside to drive innovation

What drives innovation—unlocking the human potential from inside your organization, or understanding the needs of the outside consumer? Join Jeff Lawson, co-founder and CEO at Twilio, a decades-long market leader in software innovation, and David Eun, President of Samsung Next and Chief Innovation Officer of Samsung Electronics, as they talk about the importance of unleashing talent, while understanding customer needs to drive enduring innovation and loyalty.

When: Dec. 2 @ 8:30-9AM PT / 11:30AM-12PM EST / 4:30-5 PM GMT
Who should attend: Founders, CEOs, CXOs, Heads of Innovation

Registered attendees can RSVP to save a spot

Scaling new products & services with a design mindset

“Scale or fail,” as the saying goes. But building a product that scales on a global level is extremely hard, especially when venturing into an entirely new category. Join YooJung (YJ) Ahn, Head of Design at Waymo and Travis Bogard, SVP & Head of Product at Samsung Next as they discuss how design and an understanding of human needs combine to transcend cultural, societal, and economic differences when scaling products and services.

When: Dec. 3 @ 9-9:30 AM PST / 12-12:30PM EST / 5-5:30PM GMT
Who should join: Founders, CEOs, CPOs, Heads of Product & Design

Registered attendees can RSVP to save a spot

When every brand is global, how do you stand out?

Today, every brand has the capacity to “go worldwide.” What do marketing, brand, and creative leaders need to consider when geography is no longer a barrier? Join Tiffany Rolfe, Global Chief Creative Officer at R/GA and Angie Lee, Global Head of Marketing & Communications at Samsung Next as they discuss the pitfalls and opportunities in scaling a global brand.

When: Dec. 2 @ 7:30-8AM PST / 10:30-11AM EST / 3:30-4PM GMT
Who should join: Founders, CEOs, CMOs, Heads of Brand & Marketing

Registered attendees can RSVP to save a spot


Where to begin your diversity & inclusion strategy

Having a global diversity, equity, and inclusion strategy is something that every tech company agrees is table stakes—yet, action often lags ambition. Candice Morgan established a culture and practice at Pinterest that accelerated its DEI efforts around the globe. Now, she’s creating inclusive strategies for GV and its portfolio companies. Join Candice and Samsung Next’s Head of D&I, Jiun Kimm, as they discuss the practical advice any company can deploy to start their DEI journey.

When: Dec. 3 @ 8:30-9AM PST / 11:30AM-12PM EST / 4:30-5PM GMT
Who should join: Founders, CEOs, Heads of People & D&I


Registered attendees can RSVP to save a spot




If you’re not attending Web Summit this year, signup to get Masterclass updates and access to our post-event wrap up.


Thank you to Web Summit for partnering with us on bringing these masterclasses for free to all Web Summit attendees.

Emily Koster HS
Emily Koster

Emily leads day-to-day internal and external communications for Samsung Next, and advises portfolio companies on their PR strategies. Prior to Next, she led agency teams and consulted to a mix of Fortune 500 companies and technology startups.